Baggage

Standard

by Lyra Fiske
Baggage

I thought you came alone
But now I see it
Peeking out behind you
The large bag you’re dragging
On the ground
With strings
Of bottles and cans
Clanging off of it
It’s mangled
And tangled
And I can’t see
Where it ends
And where it begins
By the looks of things
I don’t think
You can either
 
Did you ever try
To go through this stuff
And throw some of it away?
Do you even know what’s in it anymore?
 
Man, what the hell is all that shit you’re carrying?
Is that from the last woman?
Or the last several women compounded?
Now you wanna come talk to me about it
And have me help you
Sort through it all
Do I look like your shrink?
You shoulda got rid of it
Before you met me
 
I don’t wanna help you
Recycle your bottles and cans
And throw away your garbage
I had to do that
With the last man
 
And then you wanna point out
The little plastic bag I got
With maybe a few things in it
Why haven’t you got rid of that already,
You say to me
While your crap’s taking up
Half the street
Better look in the mirror my friend
Before you go running your mouth
Sayin’ your stuff’s more important
Than mine
You need to keep every last bit
 
You even try to blame me
For some of it
But I didn’t put it there
You should do something about it
It’s starting to stink
 
So let me make it easy on you
I’m gonna turn around
And not add to your pile
And take my little bag away
So you don’t have to look at it
I might still have it
But I plan on getting rid of it
Someday
 
I won’t trouble you
Since you have
Much more you need to do
Much more than you think
 
 
 
7/16/11

About quarryhillcreativecenterVT

I am the daughter of the founders of Quarry Hill Creative Center in Rochester, VT. I've been a writer all my life, and also love to draw in pastel, like my mother. My father taught me to write and many other things (rather as Prospero taught Miranda). I learned many things from my mother too-- not just how to draw, but how to be caring and kind to animals and things that can not protect themeselves. "They shall not hurt or destroy in all my holy mountain." That has been her central point of view and is one of Quarry Hill's mottos. We welcome visitors, love children, and have places to rent and sell if anyone wants to come live in the beauty of the Vermont Mountains. ladybellefiske@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

