Days in June

Standard

How beautiful and transient the world is.

That lunatics appear to be in charge   Of events makes this hour of life even more beautiful in some strange way.

The  glory of the earth. My dog is 13, stiff, tired, aged. She is transient. I am too: I am no longer able to wander the forests as I once did. Little by little we pass away without even realizing it most of the time, but sometimes, capturing the moment of our being on this earth, one realizes how special and perfect it is.  The earth is so beautiful and it is so quickly vanishing, both in the ecology and in our lives. In my life.

And yet, and yet …to not cling to this is the secret of awareness, or of a certain kind of consciousness.

I have always thought there was more than one kind of Satori.
A peony 

About quarryhillcreativecenterVT

I am the daughter of the founders of Quarry Hill Creative Center in Rochester, VT. I've been a writer all my life, and also love to draw in pastel, like my mother. My father taught me to write and many other things (rather as Prospero taught Miranda). I learned many things from my mother too-- not just how to draw, but how to be caring and kind to animals and things that can not protect themeselves. "They shall not hurt or destroy in all my holy mountain." That has been her central point of view and is one of Quarry Hill's mottos. We welcome visitors, love children, and have places to rent and sell if anyone wants to come live in the beauty of the Vermont Mountains. ladybellefiske@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

