The Vermont Movie and Quarry Hill

Standard

Part III of Freedom and Unity: The Vermont Movie will feature archival footage and information on “Communes” and communities in the state of Vermont. At one time, in the 1970s, it was said that there were over 200 of them. Quarry Hill had already been around since 1946 at the time, and is and was probably the oldest and longest lasting of the communities. We’re still here. Last year, Nora Jacobson, VT filmmaker, did an interview with me, one with my mother, Barbara Fiske Calhoun, and with some others. I let her use some of the Fiske Family archival photos and videos of Irving speaking and so on.

Now the movie is coming out. Part Three will have some stuff about QH, though it will no doubt be very trimmed down, and about other communal living situations. I urge seeing this fascinating six part film on the history of Vermont– a huge undertaking on the part of Nora, Nat Winthrop, and of many other Vermont filmmakers including our friend Robin Lloyd… Here’s the link.

http://www.thevermontmovie.com

Check it out!

Ladybelle

About quarryhillcreativecenterVT

I am the daughter of the founders of Quarry Hill Creative Center in Rochester, VT. I've been a writer all my life, and also love to draw in pastel, like my mother. My father taught me to write and many other things (rather as Prospero taught Miranda). I learned many things from my mother too-- not just how to draw, but how to be caring and kind to animals and things that can not protect themeselves. "They shall not hurt or destroy in all my holy mountain." That has been her central point of view and is one of Quarry Hill's mottos. We welcome visitors, love children, and have places to rent and sell if anyone wants to come live in the beauty of the Vermont Mountains. ladybellefiske@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

